The Conte Experience

Last night, I had some sort of rehearsal with Mr. Bruce Conte and his band (Yup, I’m sessioning for his gig which happens to be tonight at Outpost) Anyhow, the story on how I came about to playing with him for tonight’s gig was that he texted me, asking if I could sit in for his drummer.

I had to basically learn the songs at that moment, since most of Bruce’s set consists of songs that he would just automatically start with whatever chord pattern he would feel like playing first.

I was in awe at the way Bruce would guide his bandmates, giving some advice here and there in between songs.  He would glance at my direction, motioning me to follow their lead as well.

Man, I had to be on my toes all the time, because I had to look for some sort of cue from Bruce to end our jam.

In that short span of time, I learned some things from Bruce. Even though I don’t play the guitar,  I still know the basic fundamentals of how a guitar works. So, to look at him playing that mean o’l guitar is a huge and uplifting experience for me.

Hopefully tonight, I’ll be able to keep up with him and his band. Otherwise, I’m the wrong guy for this job.

~ by roadworthyman on December 5, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
