It’s time to come home….

My dad went home to our creator last Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 1:01am. He finally found the courage to go home. My sister told me last week, that he was too scared to let go because of me. He didn’t want to leave without seeing me. I knew it was impossible, because of the visa problems and such. I had to tell him to let go, and not worry about me.

We haven’t seen each other for almost 13 years. And now, with his condition, I knew I that I will never get that chance to see him again. It really hurt to tell him to let go and go home to the big house above. He already suffered enough, and I think it’s time he needs to rest.

On an early Feb 24 morning, he did just that. After taking his last breath, he finally left to go home. My sister called me at the exact moment he took his last breath. I asked her to place the phone over his ear, and proceeded to tell him about everything.

His final wish was to be cremated and his ash to be buried here in the Philippines. He also wanted half of his ash to be given to my sister, and half to mine. The rest of his ash will be buried in the cemetery.

Right now, I feel broken and lost. Maybe, because I truly miss him so much. I know I’ll heal in time. For now, I’m taking it one step at a time.

I’ll post one of his favorite song from the glam rock band “Cinderella.” I feel this is what he wanted to tell me before he went home….

Pa, wherever you are…know that I’ll miss you…and I love you…thank you for inspiring me not to give up on my music and also for influencing me on my music. I will never forget everything you taught me about music…

 Coming Home 

I took a walk down a road
Its the road I was meant to stay
I see the fire in your eyes
But a mans got to make his way
So are you tough enough for my love
Just close your eyes to the heaven above
Im coming home
Im coming home

I took a ride in a world
Ill be spinnin for the rest of my life
I feel your heart beatin baby
Ooo sometimes it cuts like a knife
So are you tough enough for my love
Just close your eyes to the heaven above
Im coming home
Im coming home

Im coming home
Where your love tonight can shine on me
Im coming home
Where your lovin arms can set me free

I took a walk down a road
Its the road I was meant to stay
I see the fire in your eyes
But a mans got to make his way
So are you tough enough for my love
Just close your eyes to the heaven above
Im coming home
Im coming home

Im coming home
Oh yea
Im on my way oh yea
Im coming home
Im coming home

Here we go ooo yea, ooo
Im on my way
Come on baby, come on now
Let your love, shine on me

Sing along, Im on my way
Come on baby, ooo
Shine on, shine on, shine on me
Come on baby, Im on my way
Come on baby, let you love shine on me
Oh yea, shine on me
Oh yea, shine on, shine on me
Im on my way
Im on my way
Im on my way

~ by roadworthyman on February 26, 2008.

8 Responses to “It’s time to come home….”

  1. I hope I am right that your father’s name is Arnulfo Nadela, III. I know him as well as his other siblings — Rosanne, Liz’l, Glenda, Ciedelle, Loreilei and Glen and Raymond. I know their parents, too; I call their father Engineer. I know Lito very well, we were good friends, and I am sad to learn about his demise. I now live in Portland, Oregon (for over 16 years already)and I happen to chance upon the Nadela website. I have also met you, Marc,and your sister, Ruby, when you were about 7 because I used to hang out with the Nadelas in Slabadu after work. God Bless your Dad. I feel your pain as I myself is grieving for the loss of my mom who died on Feb 2nd this year.

  2. Hi pia,

    Yup its him, thank you for taking time to browse my blog site as well. Thank you for the words also. I know wherever he is right now, he is happy to be with Mommy and Daddy:) Time will heal for now I’m still trying to accept the reality…again thank you for dropping by….condolence also…

  3. Was your dad living in the US? What state?

  4. Yup, he lived there for almost 14 years. He was based in San Jose, California.

  5. That is interesting. I did not know he was in the US all those times. I miss your dad’d family — the twins, Ciedelle and Lorelei. I remember Ciedelle and her bf named Joey. I wonder if they ended up getting married. I attended Lizl’s and Andy Aranyosi’s wedding as well as Lorelei’s. Did Michelle and Yan-yan pursue a career in music? I remember Yan-yan singing at such a young age. It’s good to know you found your niche in the music scene. Your dad must be so proud of you.

  6. Hi,

    Yeah he was there since 1995. The twins are doing ok, they were there during my dad’s last few days. Ciedelle married someone else. Michelle did not pursue in singing, but Yan2 did. She released some of her songs in Canada. Yeah, my dad told me how proud he was on my music. I just hope I made him happy as well.

  7. Rest in peace my brother. I don’t know what to say but you and your family (Rossane, Liezl etc.) goes a long long way back and I still think that you were my family too. My heartfelt condolences…

  8. hmmm…hope you’re ok now…i guess 2008’s not good for you in some ways but count the blessings,u knw there are alot in your music industry. tcare! still got me..*wink

Leave a Reply

 
