A moonwalker’s exit.

Yeah, I’m sure that people are still talking about the passing of the “King of Pop” even as I’m blogging right now.

No,  I am not a MJ hater if that’s what you’re trying to imply.

I am a huge fan of MJ.

I’m not blogging about him because of the overwhelming tributes and media hooplas that have been circulating almost everyday around the world.

When news of his death reached me on the wee hours of  June 25, I decided against blogging about it, since I knew that time people are going to be talking about it non stop on the net.

I decided to blog about him today, since I wanted to pay sort of a tribute to the man who inspired me.

You see,  I grew up watching MJ back when he was still with the The Jackson 5.  Little mikey was belting out songs like “I Want You Back”, “ABC”, and “I’ll Be There.”

Then, when his album “Thriller” came out back in the 80’s, I went nuts and practically begged  my grandparents to rent a betamax tape about the making of the “Thriller” movie.

There, I saw how MJ choreographed the entire zombie dance scene, to being applied cosmetic make up for the wolf scene.  It also featured interviews with the director, as well as comments from the other cast members of that MTV.

Anyway, looking at the documentary made me realized how MJ was really passionate about his craft and music.

From that day on, I never stopped listening to his music.

I even tried imitating some of his famous moves.

Over the years, MJ released several albums which boosted several hit singles and broke several record sales.

Even when he decided to alter his appearance by bleaching his skin white, or that several issues  of child molestations began to come out, I never stopped listening to his music.

In true form, I was a silent and huge supporter of MJ.

Whatever that I read in the news I let it be. I never believed in that anyway.

What mattered the most for me was that he was a man, who was still dedicated to his music. His passion for coming up with those mind boggling dance moves still amazes me to this very day.

Last week, I saw the MJ memorial tribute on tv. People like Mariah Carey, Usher, Stevie Wonder, and even brother Jermaine Jackson all rendered heart performing numbers to the late “King of Pop.” Various eulogies from people closest to his heart were also heard.

I sat there teary eyed the whole time and reminicing my whole childhood. I couldn’t believe that he is gone.

It’s like a part of my musical influence died with him as well.

Now, all these people are coming out saying good things about MJ and how he was this and that.

Bull$%^!

These are the very people who were pointing fingers at MJ during the time he was charged with several cases.  And now they have the balls to come and saying praises about the moonwalker? That’s just crap!

Brother Marlon Jackson said it best for us all:

“Maybe now, Michael, they will leave you alone.”

And with those words in mind, I knew the moonwalker is on his way to a better place where people do not judge other people for what they are.

So, MJ, I’d like to thank you for influencing me with your music.

Your craft, your dedication, your sense of style in writing music can never be duplicated.

There will be other pretenders to the throne after you.

But there can only be one moonwalker.

And you’re up there among the stars, dancing along with several of the great ones that have gone before you.

Thank you for the music. The world will never be the same without you.

Long live the King!

The Moonwalker has left the building

The Moonwalker has left the building

(August 29, 1958 – June 25, 2009)

~ by roadworthyman on July 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
